BCCJ Excom: behind the scenes

Written by BCCJ
June 17, 2014

Written by BCCJ
June 17, 2014


Over 200 member companies | 14 Executive Committee members | 3 executive staff | Ever wondered what goes on behind the scenes at the British Chamber of Commerce (BCCJ)?

Following our hotly-contested 2014-2015 Executive Committee (Excom) elections, and our first Excom meeting of the new Chamber year, we are pleased to announce that the following Excom taskforces are now in operation:

Taskforces (7)

  • Membership
  • Events
  • Communications
  • Community
  • 2020 Tokyo Olympics & Paralympics / 2019 Rugby World Cup 
  • British Business Awards (BBA)
  • Overseas Business Network Initiative (OBNI)

Excom members are also taking responsibility for the following functional roles:

Roles (5)

  • Finance 
  • Legal 
  • EBC 
  • British Embassy 
  • British Council

2014-2015 BCCJ EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE (14 Excom members were elected on April 23)

David Bickle, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu  PRESIDENT

Anna Pinsky, Individual Member VICE PRESIDENT

Reiko Sakimura, Clifford Chance Law Office

Iain Ferguson, Lloyd’s Japan Inc

Graham Davis, Individual Member

Haruno Yoshida, BT Japan Corporation

James Dodds, KPMG

Alison Jambert, Eat creative k.k.

Jonty Brunner,  British Airways

Yoko Kosugi, The Royal Bank of Scotland plc

Richard Thornley, CBE, Individual Member

Philip T Gibb, OBE, Canning

Simon Farrell, Custom Media KK

James Weeks, Kreab Gavin Anderson K.K.


Sue Kinoshita, British Embassy Tokyo

Jeff Streeter, British Council


Excom is supported by 3 executive staff: Lori Henderson (Executive Director), Sanae Samata (Operations Manager), Sarah Firth (Membership and Marketing Assistant), as well as interns from Temple University and Waseda University.


If you / your company might be interested in contributing to the work of an Excom taskforce, please email [email protected]