BCCJ 2014-2015 Excom Elections now CLOSED

Written by BCCJ
April 22, 2014

Written by BCCJ
April 22, 2014

Polls in the 2014-2015 Executive Committee Election are now closed

Thank you to everyone who cast their vote by yesterday’s deadline. We were delighted to receive votes from 119 members  – a record-breaking turnout!

By the 2014-2015 Executive Committee nomination deadline (March 26 1700) we had received a record 27 nominations that met constitutional guidelines; 25 candidates agreed to enter a contested election.

Under our constitution, the Executive Committee is run by a minimum of 12 and a maximum of 15 individuals. At this year’s Annual General Meeting to be held at the Shangri-La Hotel Tokyo on the evening of April 25 (Thur), there will therefore be a total of 25 qualified and approved candidates competing for 15 Excom seats, creating THE most competitive election in our 65 year history.

BCCJ members with voting rights (1 nominated representative from BCCJ member companies and all individual members) have now been asked to vote in a contested election, which will run from April 9-21.

The following 25 candidates, listed in alphabetical order, have confirmed their willingness to serve on the 2014-2015 BCCJ Executive Committee. Candidates who served on the 2013-2014 Excom are indicated by an asterisk (*):

  • David Bickle, Deloitte Touche Tomatsu*
  • Jonty Brunner, British Airways*
  • Graham Davis, Individual Member*
  • James Dodds, KPMG*
  • Simon Farrell, Custom Media K.K.*
  • Iain Ferguson, Lloyd’s Japan Inc.
  • Tony Ford, Oxford Instruments KK
  • Philip T. Gibb, OBE, Individual Member*
  • Shai Greenberg, DTZ Debenham Tie Leung K.K.
  • Brian M. Gregory, SCT Inc.
  • Ashley Harvey, Visit Britain
  • Mireille Watanabe Handover, Lumina Learning Asia
  • Alison Jambert, Eat creative k.k.*
  • Susumu Kaminaga, Individual Member
  • Yoko Kosugi, The Royal Bank of Scotland plc
  • Richard Lyle, Intralink KK
  • Anna Pinsky, Individual Member*
  • Suzanne Price, Price Global*
  • Reiko Sakimura, Clifford Chance Law Office*
  • Ajab Samrai, Ogilvy & Mather (Japan) GK
  • Richard Thornley, CBE, Individual Member*
  • Trevor Webster, deVere Group Tokyo KK
  • James Weeks, Kreab Gavin Anderson K.K.*
  • Robert Williams, Individual Member
  • Haruno Yoshida, BT Japan Corporation*
You can read each candidate’s pledge in our election booklet

Of the above, David Bickle has indicated his willingness to serve for one year as President of the Chamber and Chair of the Executive Committee. David qualifies for, and is therefore proposed to serve as, President and Chair, conditional to his being elected onto Excom.

Members: please sign up below to secure a spot at our Annual General Meeting – when the Excom election results will be announced – on April 23.